UPDATED: Emergency and Disaster Instructions

When a natural disaster, extreme weather or emergency occurs that affects providers and the Medicare beneficiaries that they serve, special emergency-related policies and procedures may be implemented. For detailed information on these policies and procedures, please see the following resources:

This section provides information regarding the 2019-Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19). CMS has developed helpful information regarding the 2019-Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) external link .

Coronavirus-Overview

General Information and Updates

COVID-19 Vaccines

CMS MLN Connects

  • MLN Connects external link  – Thursday, August 27, 2020: COVID-19: Training to Strengthen Nursing Home Infection Control Practices
  • MLN Connects external link  – Thursday, August 20, 2020: Routine Provider Inspections Resume
  • MLN Connects external link  – Thursday, August 13, 2020: COVID-19: CMS/CDC Nursing Home Training Series Webcast – August 13
  • MLN Connects external link  – Thursday, August 6, 2020: Physician Fee Schedule Proposed Rule Listening Session: Register Now
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Tuesday, August 4, 2020: PFS, OPPS, and IRF: FY 2021 Payment Rules
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Friday, July 31, 2020: FY 2021 Medicare Payment Policies for IPFs, SNFs, and Hospices
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Thursday, July 30, 2020: Payment for COVID-19 Counseling, Reporting Hospital Therapeutics, Out-of-Pocket Drug Costs
  • MLN Connects – Thursday, July 30, 2020: COVID-19 Impacts on Medicare Beneficiaries – Updated Data
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Thursday, July 23, 2020: COVID-19: New Resources to Protect Nursing Home Residents
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, July 23, 2020: Telemedicine Hack: 10-Week Learning Community for Ambulatory Providers
  • MLN Connects for Thursday, July 16, 2020: Nursing Homes & COVID: Five Things to Know, Additional Resources, Training
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, July 9, 2020: ICD-10-CM Diagnosis Codes: FY 2021
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Monday July 6, 2020: News
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, July 2, 2020: Attend Nursing Home Training Series Webcasts
  • MLN Connects Special Edition – Friday, June 26, 2020: News
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, June 25, 2020: COVID-19: New Data Details Impacts on Medicare Beneficiaries
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Friday, June 19, 2020: COVID-19: Using the CR Modifier and DR Condition Code
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, June 18, 2020: COVID-19 Diagnostic Laboratory Tests: Billing for Clinician Services
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, June 11, 2020: COVID-19: Reopening Health Care Facilities
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, June 4, 2020: MLN Connects for June 4, 2020
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Monday, June 1, 2020: COVID-19: Using the CR Modifier and DR Condition
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, May 29, 2020: New COVID-19 FAQs on Medicare Fee-for-Service Billing
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, May 28, 2020: MLN Connects for May 28, 2020
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, May 21, 2020: Join Upcoming COVID-19 Calls
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, May 15, 2020: COVID-19 deadlines, new releases, and important calls
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, May 14, 2020: IPPS/LTCH PPS: FY 2021 Proposed Rule
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Tuesday, May 12, 2020: COVID-19: Additional Waivers, Price Transparency, and the CMS
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, May 8, 2020: COVID-19: Nursing Home Reporting, Updated Telehealth Video, Pharmacies & Other Suppliers Can Enroll as Labs, IRF Flexibilities
  • MLN Connects external link  for April 30, 2020: COVID-19: Lessons from the Front Lines
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – April 27, 2020: COVID-19: CMS Reevaluates Accelerated Payment Program and Suspends Advance Payment Program 
  • MLN Connects external link  for April 23, 2020: Report Clinical Trial  Data to Fight COVID-19 & Earn MIPS Credit 
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – April 20, 2020: COVID-19: Nursing Home Transparency, Recommendations for Areas with Low Incidence of Disease 
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – April 17, 2020: COVID-19: RHC & FQHC Flexibilities, Increased Payment for Lab Tests, Hospital Waivers, Call Audio and Transcript
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Wednesday, April 15, 2020: COVID-19: Reprocessing Hospital Claims, Essential Diagnostic Services, Non-Invasive Ventilators  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, April 10, 2020: COVID-19: Infection Control, Maximizing Workforce, Updated Q&A, CS Modifier for Cost-Sharing, Payment Adjustment Suspended  
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, April 9, 2020: Important COVID-19 Updates 
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Tuesday, April 7, 2020: COVID-19: Telehealth Video, Coinsurance and Deductible Waived, ASC Attestations, Ambulance Modifiers, Lessons From Front Lines, MLN Call Today  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, April 3, 2020: COVID-19: Telehealth Billing Correction, Nursing Home Recommendations, Billing for Multi-Function Ventilators, New ICD-10-CM Diagnosis Code  
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Tuesday, March 31, 2020: COVID-19: Regulatory Changes, Telehealth Billing, and Specimen Collection Codes  
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Monday, March 30, 2020: COVID-19: Financial Relief, Nursing Home Telehealth, Quality Reporting, Clinical Laboratories, Hospital Data Sharing  
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, March 26, 2020: COVID-19: New Targeted Plan for Health Care Facility Inspections  
  • MLN Connects Special Edition external link  – Thursday, March 26, 2020: COVID-19: Enrollment Relief, Open Payments, Beneficiary Notices  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Monday, March 23, 2020: COVID-19: Relief for Quality Reporting Programs and Provider Enrollment  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, March 20, 2020: COVID-19: Telehealth and Non-Essential Procedures  
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, March 19, 2020: Medicare FFS Response to the Public Health Emergency on the Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Tuesday, March 17, 2020: COVID-19: President Trump Expands Telehealth Benefits for Medicare Beneficiaries During COVID-19 Outbreak  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Monday, March 16, 2020: COVID-19: FFS Response and Nursing Home Visitor Guidance  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, March 13, 2020: COVID-19: Test Pricing, Diagnostic Lab Tests, Pricing & Codes, and EHB Coverage  
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, March 12, 2020: 2019 Novel Coronavirus Guidance 
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Monday, March 9, 2020: COVID-19 Response: CMS Issues FAQs to Assist Medicare Providers  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Friday, March 6, 2020: CMS Develops Additional Code for Coronavirus Lab Tests  
  • Special Edition MLN Connects external link  – Wednesday, March 4, 2020: CMS Announces Actions to Address Spread of Coronavirus  
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, February 27, 2020: COVID-19 Coding Guidance 
  • MLN Connects external link  for Thursday, February 20, 2020: Bill Correctly for Medicare Telehealth Services

Home Health and Hospice Guidance

Home Health Guidance 

Hospice Guidance

  • Hospice: CMS Flexibilities to Fight COVID-19 on the CMS website external link  (PDF, 217 KB)
  • Guidance for Infection Control and Prevention Concerning Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) by Hospice Agencies on the CMS website external link  (PDF, 159 KB)

Home Health Review Choice Demonstration Guidance

Finance

Palmetto GBA COVID-19 Education

Source: https://www.palmettogba.com/palmetto/providers.nsf/docscat/Providers%7EJM%20Home%20Health%20and%20Hospice%7EArticles%7EEmergency%20and%20Disaster%20Instructions